i am not a sampler. by that i mean, i hate and will not eat public samples....you know, the kind where the cute little old lady offers you a taste of microwaved burrito. most of the samples are processed food that i wouldn't eat anyway, and i find the whole idea just kind of gross and unhygienic. it's entirely possible that i feel this strongly because of my traumatic sample experience last year, but that's another story.
mostly, i wish that Costco would FREAKING MOVE the sample carts our of the main aisles and trafficways. i went to Costco under protest today, because i knew it would be crazy. 1) it's a saturday, and it's always crazy on the weekend. 2) we're about to have a huge winter storm, which causes everyone to wig out and apparently, buy lots of bread. 3) murphy's law dictates that it will be crazy because i'm going with 3 children, and i'm feeling pissy about it.
so amidst all this madness, Costco, in their great cleverness, decided to place sampling stations right in the middle of the refrigerated aisles. who thought this was a good idea?!? the aisle is barely wide enough for 2 carts to pass, and you have to take into account that people are opening doors to get items from the freezer. it was a giant, huge traffic jam, and all because people were starving for a tiny sample of---get ready for it---pre-made, frozen jimmy dean sausage biscuits that had been heated in the microwave. blech. gross. ewww. if you're going to cause a major traffic jam, let it at least be for something good, like fresh fruit or ice cream. who actually is dying to taste soggy sausage biscuit? i seriously think people intentionally skip meals, and then have a hodge-podge of samples as a meal. i would vomit if i ate that many different types of crap food.
it's not too much to ask that all the sample people be corralled to one area of the store. the sample-givers and the sample-eaters can be slow, make mindless conversation, pig out on samples, block the aisle with their carts, let their children run wild, and in general, be obnoxious, FAR FAR FAR FAR--did i say far?--away from me. because i am actually trying to shop, and checkout, and leave.
xoxo and all that sappy crap,
mrs. awesome
No comments:
Post a Comment
say your piece. but remember, i reserve the right to delete that crap. or to love it. technically, that's a possibility, too.