Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Your children are so polite and well-behaved. Really, lady? It's called manners.

in our house, we are very serious about manners.  my husband is a southern boy, who always addressed his parents with "yes, ma'am/sir".  my house wasn't quite that rigid, but we did practice basic politeness and table manners.  if you were rude at the table, you dinner was OVER.  period.  you just ate the next morning.  so, suffice it to say, neither one of us can stand bad manners.  when our kids are addressed by anyone, adults or kids, we expect them to speak up and use appropriate language. 

we ate out tonight to celebrate the oldest's school victory (finishing a gi-hugey math book), and went to a favorite bbq restaurant.  we go there often, because the food is great, and it's close.  we were sitting next to 2 families, with one child each.  these toddlers were holy frickin' terrors.  i mean, yelling, sassing, throwing food, rolling on the floor, and running around the table.  so after they finished their dinner (which traumatized the entire restaurant), one of the moms came over to our table.

stranger mom:  i just wanted to tell you how very good and well-behaved your children are!  it's such a refreshing thing to see.

me:  thank you.  that's nice to hear.

stranger mom: i mean, i don't know HOW you do that.  your children must be very good naturally.  you know, if you had a strong-willed child like MINE, then, well, you know.....

me: i'm not really sure what you mean.

stranger mom:  what i mean is that, i'd really LIKE to have a a kid with such good manners, but he's just full of high spirits, and it's so hard!

me: you know, you've hit the nail on the head.  most parents don't teach their kids to have good manners because it is a lot of HARD WORK.  it absolutely is.  so if it's too hard for you, then keep on doing what you're doing.  have a good night.

what the hell, lady?!?  first of all, my kids are more strong-willed than literally any other kids we know.  the difference is that we viewed it as important, spent the time, and worked hard with our kids.  we didn't wave a magic "good behavior in public" wand, and our kids weren't born with innate politeness.  it was work.  just like all the rest of parenting.  don't expect awesome results when you do no work.  at the rate you and your kids are going, it's gonna be a long 18 years for you, lady.

xoxo and all that sappy crap,

mrs. awesome

No comments:

Post a Comment

say your piece. but remember, i reserve the right to delete that crap. or to love it. technically, that's a possibility, too.