has anyone else noticed that yoga pants are the new black? i know that it's not news, but why do women do this? i suspect very few of us are actually coming or going from the gym. let me tell you what i think when i see women dressed in yoga pants....i think, "wow. rough day, was it? because you obviously didn't care enough about yourself to actually GET DRESSED." i don't mean "get dressed" as in, all dressed up in fancypants. i mean looking well-groomed. i mean looking like you showered, did your hair, applied at least minimal makeup, and are NOT wearing sneakers.
let's face it. i stay home with my kids. i homeschool my kids. my everyday wardrobe includes mostly jeans. but i draw the line at yoga pants. i refuse to schlump around in knit pants with an expandable waistline, just because "they're comfortable". no, i don't have it all together, all of the time. not even close to half of the time. however, nothing makes you feel crappier than going out in public looking crappy, too. if you have the body of jessica biel, and the butt to match, then perhaps yoga pants are okay for you. but for most women, soft stretchy pants just accentuate the bad. when you wear real clothing (yes, even jeans), you can pick styles, colors, and patterns that are flattering on you.
and on a related topic, when did middle-aged women start downgrading from mere yoga pants to the ever-ugly legging?!? leggings are wishful thinking. it's wishful thinking that they look good on you unless you're 15. leggings are bad on nearly everyone that isn't 15. please, please, PUH-LEASSSE stop wearing leggings if you are old enough to have children of your own. it's called automatic disqualification. get some real, grown-up clothes and step away from the leggings.
xoxo and all that sappy crap,
mrs. awesome
No comments:
Post a Comment
say your piece. but remember, i reserve the right to delete that crap. or to love it. technically, that's a possibility, too.