my life is constantly on the run. so, although i don't really like it, a lot of the time i am running through stores in the 30 minutes before closing time. i try to be conscientious, and be checked out by the time the store is closed....because it sucks to work late for customers who just don't care that your store is closed. i get it. but there are 2 things i CAN'T STAND about shopping right before closing time.
1) i know that you don't want people to stay past closing. i know there are jerky people who would continue to shop. therefore, i see the need for those pesky "we're about to close" loudspeaker announcements. what i can't abide is the need to say, very very specifically, what time it is, and how many minutes until closing. tj maxx and marshalls are the worst at this. really?!? you couldn't stick to 10 or 15 minute increments? you have to tell us that "there are 13 SHORT shopping minutes left!"? it makes you sound pissy as an employee. and you probably are pissy, but i don't care, and i don't need to know about it. it's rude. along with this, i also love the statement that "the registers will close automatically!" that mess is NOT true. don't say it. because that statement makes me want to test you....to stay 15 minutes past close of business, and then buy my stuff.
2) i know you want to go home. i know you've worked hard, and you're straightening crap, and you want me to make my purchase and leave. but don't suddenly act all helpful, when you are never helpful in the first place. in my area, target is the worst offender. while not outright rude, i have never, ever, no not even once, been approached by a target person asking if i need help, or am finding everything i'm looking for. until about 30 minutes prior to closing. then, sales associates who have studiously ignored you at every turn (which is fine with me), suddenly get all in your face with the helpfulness. it's a lot annoying. and totally transparent. i know you weren't helpful before, so don't try to play sincere little helpful person now. we know what that's about.
so, if you see me in a store, about 30 minutes before close, carry on as normal. if you make an annoying announcement, or an insincere offer of help, i might smack you.
xoxo and all that sappy crap,
mrs. awesome
No comments:
Post a Comment
say your piece. but remember, i reserve the right to delete that crap. or to love it. technically, that's a possibility, too.